EuroBasket 2022: Scores, schedule, live stream, groups, full list of NBA players participating

EuroBasket 2022: Scores, schedule, live stream, groups, full list of NBA players participating

The tournament runs through Sept. 18 in the Czech Republic, Georgia, Italy and Germany


EuroBasket 2022, the latest edition of the quadrennial tournament to determine the European basketball champion, was unveiled on Thursday (September 1) and will be played on September 18 in the Czech Republic, Georgia, Italy and Germany. The knockout phase, including the final, will be held in Berlin. Luka Doncic and defending champion Slovenia were supposed to defend their titles in 2021, but when the 2020 Olympics were postponed by a year for COVID-19, EuroBasket was postponed as well. 

The minor schedule adjustment will not affect future events, however, and the next event will be held as scheduled in 2025. 

Two-time MVP Giannis Antetokounmpo will play for Greece, while reigning MVP Nikola Jokic will be fit for Serbia. These two, along with Doncic, highlight the list of NBA players who will be playing in the tournament when it begins. Also worth a look is France, which won a silver medal at the 2020 Olympics. France has five NBA players in the tournament, including three-time Defensive Player of the Year Rudy Gobert. 

Before the tournament begins, here's everything you need to know about. 


Note: Montenegro replaced Russia, which was disqualified from participating by FIBA due to the invasion of Ukraine.

Group A

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Georgia 
  • Montenegro
  • Spain
  • Turkey

Group B

  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Lithuania
  • Slovenia

Group C

  • Croatia
  • Estonia
  • Great Britain
  • Greece
  • Italy
  • Ukraine

Group D

  • Czech Republic
  • Finland
  • Israel
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Serbia


The tournament will begin with the group stage, which features four groups of six teams. Each group will play a round-robin, in which each team will play the other five teams in its group once. Teams will receive two points for a win and one point for a loss, and the top four teams in each group will advance to the knockout stage. If two teams are tied in points, their head-to-head matchup will be the first tiebreaker. Subsequent tiebreakers will be point differential followed by points scored if necessary. 

The 16 teams that advance to the knockout stage will then be placed in a bracket based on their qualifying position. From there, it's single-elimination matchups all the way until the final, which will be played in Berlin on Sept. 18.